Author Topic: Mitsu Forklift  (Read 1235 times)

M

Mitsu Forklift
« on: October 22, 2015, 06:15:10 PM »
I have a '98 (or thereabouts) Mitsubishi FGC25K 5,000lb forklift. 

Today it was noticed that the left side of the tilt cylinder popped out of the yoke.

I tried reattaching it, but couldn't because it appears that the first two-three rows of the thread was damaged in both the rod end and yoke. 

Questions:
1 - Is the correct procedure of this repair is to thread/die the rod end and yoke?
2 - How do I adjust the cylinder so that it moves in the same speed as the right side?  I noticed that the left side (popped one) moves at a different time than the right one (still intact) which probably is how this popped out.

Where can I find a thread tap and die so that I can fix it and what size should it be (1 1/16"?)?  I've never done thread tapping/dieing before, but I get the concept of how it works.

Pics as follows:

matt

Re: Mitsu Forklift
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2015, 01:03:03 PM »
The cylinders should be in parallel so the one is moving different than the other due to force being applied.  The one with the less force will move first.

I would just chase the threads with a file or dremel.  It is probably a metric thread (being mitsu) so finding a tap and die that size will be $$$

M4wdFab

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2015, 01:09:26 PM »
or just cut the end 3 threads off if they are really F'd.  pic or file out the gauled internal threads-  reassemble,  clamp with a bolt and top lock. 

rejeep

• M4wd Vendor
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2015, 01:29:09 PM »
looks like chase with tap and die and new pinch bolt...

I never wanted a red car.. always thought they were tacky and common...
I now have 4 very not common cars and they are all red.. :o

M

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2015, 02:13:58 PM »
It's metric.